RSS

Day 40: Sad Owl

20 Jul

Today is a sad day all around. My uncle, a talented musician and Sci Fi writer, would have celebrated his 46th birthday. This morning, I realized that I have outlived my uncle by just over a week. It’s a completely morbid thought, but it reminded me that each day is truly a gift and that it’s time for me to start chasing my dreams like I mean it.

As I was contemplating all of this, I found out about the shootings in Aurora, Colorado. So many people were robbed of their lives, love, and dreams just because one thing* decided it would be better off if it killed others. My heart goes out to the victims and their loved ones. I can’t begin to imagine the pain they must be feeling.

* I refuse to refer to the shooter as a human being. Anyone capable of such evil, cannot be considered human in my book.

In memory of my uncle, here’s a link to one of his short stories:
http://www.sffworld.com/authors/d/dykema_tim/fiction/world01p1.html

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Illustration

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Day 40: Sad Owl

  1. Delft

    July 21, 2012 at 04:07

    Love the owl.
    It is tragic that humans cause each other such terrible pain. At the same time I think differently about the “human” issue. I ask myself: what would have to happen to me, to make me even consider doing something like that?

     
    • owladay

      July 21, 2012 at 08:13

      Thank you! I’ve thought about the same thing, and I just can’t understand.

       

Leave a Reply

 
