RSS

Bonus guest post

12 Aug

During my vacation, I spent a ton of time with some very talented young artists. The first two owls were created by a published illustrator and writer who has written and illustrated 8 whole books. This accomplished 1st grader critiqued my owl work and offered some very good advice–make backgrounds for the owls!

20120813-002421.jpg20120813-000815.jpg

The next owl is from yet another published illustrator and author. She is well-known for her goat stories and horse drawing abilities and will be entering kindergarten in the fall. She decided she would make her own version of one of my owls. While drawing it, she told me that I should use more colors.

20120813-001012.jpg

The next owls came from one of my toughest critics, who is also a published illustrator and writer (and just 4 years old). “Why do you draw owls? Can’t you draw anything else?” she questioned looking quite bewildered. “It’s okay. I’ll teach you to draw other things like people. People are important to draw.”

20120813-002111.jpg

20120813-002249.jpg

As you can see, I have some very serious and talented competition (aka nieces)! They have taught me so much about drawing, and I love each of them for being unique, creative, and honest.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Illustration

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Bonus guest post

  1. sarahjamalwrites

    August 12, 2012 at 23:40

    very lovely:) and cute:) i personally like owl number two the best:p

     

Leave a Reply

 
