Day 85: Labor Day Owl

Image

I just learned that the first Labor Day holiday was celebrated on Tuesday, September 5, 1882, in New York City, thanks to The Daily Heller. I never gave Labor Day much thought really, besides the fact that it means an extended weekend once a year. Of course, after reading this post, I had to explore textiles of the 1880s. I came across a few sites that included images of some very interesting fabrics–and found this owl among the bits and pieces of various fabrics. Not what I expected from an owl made with remnants of antique fabric, but then none of my owls are what I really expect when I start out.

Tell me your thoughts:

