RSS

Day 103: Strange Owl

21 Sep

This odd little owl was originally inspired by a Lucienne Day design. (She’s one of my favorite textile designers and has provided a good deal of inspiration for the owls on this blog.) I found the eyes in one of her designs, and found myself at a loss about what to do with the rest of the body. But, the soundtrack to Rad helped me find the rest of this owl–I can’t help but picture the ugly pastel triangle designs of the 80s every time I hear “Get Strange.” I guess I needed to get strange after a wicked week of incredibly intense work.

Read about Lucienne Day (and see the design that sparked this owl) here: http://www.patternandsource.com/index.php/categories/retro/lucienne-day/

Curious about Rad? YouTube has a few clips here: http://bit.ly/SawZtT (It’s all about BMX racing and loaded with 80s awesomeness!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2012 in Illustration

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
