RSS

Day 104: Just Right Owl

22 Sep

Ever have one of those days where you realize that you’re in the right place at the right time? That’s what today was for me. I spent most of the day at a cross country invitational. While watching a bunch of students race each other can be quite entertaining, that wasn’t what brought about this realization. It was all of the girls and women telling me (and others) how much Girls on the Run has changed their lives for the better. There were girls who hated running when they started Girls on the Run that stopped by the booth to tell me how happy they were to be on the cross country team at their school, women who had walked our Girls on the Run 5k that had to come say thank you for helping them find the inspiration to start running, and the girls that were interested in running when they started GOTR that had to stop by to let me know they haven’t stopped running since completing the program. I knew some of these people personally, but most of them were strangers. It’s amazing to realize that just by volunteering with Girls on the Run, I’ve helped so many people become healthier,  happier, and stronger.

If you haven’t heard of Girls on the Run, please check out this link: http://www.girlsontherun.org/ I promise you won’t regret a second you spend learning about this amazing program!

Wondering what the connection between my day and this owl is? When I sat down to create her, I had no clue what I would do with the shapes I was creating. With a little work, all of the pieces just seemed to fall into just the right (somewhat quirky) places.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 22, 2012 in Illustration

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Day 104: Just Right Owl

  1. Delft

    September 23, 2012 at 01:33

    I immediately thought: this is a fresh looking owl. And now I know why.

     

Leave a Reply

 
