RSS

Summer School for Designers

16 Aug

It’s been ages since I’ve done much of anything related to illustration, and I don’t like it one bit! So, I signed up to take the Make It In Design Summer School courses…all three. Crazy? Yep, but I’m so hungry to design again that I just couldn’t help myself!

Round 1 was a little rocky, as I was only able to complete one of three assignments:

MIID Summer School pattern design, round 1

This time around, I’ve decided to complete all three assignments. The first theme is tribal shapes. I am the first to admit that the tribal geometric designs just don’t sit well with me (okay, so they kinda make my stomach flop).

I started with a shape you may recognize from one of my owls:

MIID Summer School begins

I never really liked this design, so I thought why not make myself like it more. I reworked the colors to a more vibrant tribal color palette and came up with this…

Almost tribal?

Not quite tribal. So I went back to my sketch pad to try for something more tribal. A few adjustments and I made it to my final design:

That's as tribal as I get!

It reminds me of the irritating patterns I had to deal with as a preteen in the 80s. I think it works, but it’s definitely not my style.

So, have you guessed the next step in my design adventure? Yep, I’ll be creating fabric patterns with all of the bits and pieces of my owls. I’ll use these courses to challenge my skills and build a base of designs. The best will be available through my Spoonflower site.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2014 in Illustration

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Summer School for Designers

  1. The Empty Notebook

    August 16, 2014 at 23:06

    I think they’re beautiful! And I’m so happy you’ve resumed posting 🙂 Keep up the great work!

     
  2. bighair63

    August 17, 2014 at 12:57

    I really like the first design! Keep cracking on with the illustrations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
